CARS: Car Allowance Rebate System

www.cars.gov

The Car Allowance Rebate System is a new program from the NHTSA that helps consumers purchase new, more fuel-efficient vehicles when they trade in a vehicle that is less efficient.  Those with eligible vehicles can visit a participating dealer and receive a credit worth either $3500 or $4500 towards the purchase of a new vehicle.

This program was just signed into law, and some of the details are still being worked out, but the website is being updated regularly to include new information.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “CARS: Car Allowance Rebate System”

  1. Tony says :

    I think this rebate program really blows! I just went to check if my vehicle would qualify (a 16 year old POS which only gets about 12 MPG) and of course it DOESN’T! They are basing the qualifying MPG on the average of the ORIGINAL MPG, which in my case is 18 city and 24 highway averaging 21, DOES NOT QUALIFY. It just kills me on how many people will cheat the system and take advantage of this. I’ve went back to college full time after being gone to try to better my life and the life of my family. When I heard about this rebate program this, I was thinking “Wow, finally something to help out!”. I was wrong as usual. Thank you government for trying to help out the people who don’t need the help again.

  2. Silicon says :

    Nice idea! I was thinking about writing something along these same lines. So I will have to bookmark this for future reference.

Leave a Reply

